About Loughborough
Schools Foundation

Loughborough Schools Foundation is a charitable foundation of four independent schools operating under a single Board of Trustees/Directors. The Foundation comprises Loughborough Grammar School (boys, 10-18, day and boarding), Loughborough High School (girls, 11-18), Fairfield Prep School (co-educational, 3-11) and Loughborough Amherst School (co-educational 4-18).

Loughborough Grammar School was established in 1495, both Loughborough High School and Loughborough Amherst School in 1850, whilst Fairfield Prep School has been an autonomous school since 1969.

The schools are situated on two neighbouring campuses on the south side of Loughborough. They enjoy an excellent reputation for their academic, cultural and sporting achievements, and for the quality of their pastoral care. An extensive transport system for pupils operates across the East Midlands.

Loughborough Schools Foundation is renowned for its ongoing programme of improvements to its facilities. Significant investment has been made in a state-of-the-art science park and a dedicated Music department, and at Fairfield, an £8m new school building has opened which has provided extra space which all pupils are benefiting from, in addition to a purpose-built Kindergarten unit for children from 3 years. In autumn 2016, Loughborough Nursery also opened for children from 6 weeks to 4 years.

Loughborough Schools Foundation employs approximately 600 staff in both teaching and non-teaching roles. The four Heads are responsible for the management of educational activities whilst business aspects of the Foundation are managed by the Chief Operating Officer through the centralised functions of finance, estates, health & safety, catering, network services, human resources, marketing, commercial, and the development office.

Our Legal Status

Loughborough Schools Foundation is incorporated as a company limited by guarantee, number 4038033, and is a registered charity, number 1081765.

Twenty-two voluntary governors are both trustees of the charity and directors of the company limited by guarantee. The Board of Governors meets at least three times a year and the governors also operate ten functional committees, which have been formed to regulate and oversee the activities of the Foundation and the individual schools.

Loughborough Schools Foundation Governors

Professor R Allison, Mr P Alexander, Mrs E K Critchley, Professor A Dodson, Professor J Feather, Mr G P Fothergill (Chairman), Mrs M Gershlick, Lady J Gretton, Mr R Harrison, Mr P M Jackson, Mr A D Jones, Professor J Ketley, Sister C Leydon, Mrs R J E Limb, Mr P Middleton, Mrs P O’Neill, Mrs G Richards, Mr P Snelling, Admiral Sir T Soar, Mr J Stone, Mrs A Murphy, Mrs L Webb

Ex Officio Governors

Dr A de Bono, Dr P J B Hubner, Mrs C Wales, Mrs J Page, Mr H M Pearson